Asheville, NC

We recently attended a wedding in Asheville, NC and I had to check out the food and beer scene. The east coast version of Portland, Asheville is known for three things- outdoor adventure, food, and beer. Didn’t get to try too much of the food, but I managed to sample some beer. 

Funkatorium, home of amazing sours

The breweries I managed to visit included the Funkatorium, Wicked Weed, Twin Leaf, Bhramari Brewhouse, Lexington Avenue, Wedge, and Burial. I sampled some of the best sours I’ve ever tasted, unique beers like a coffee tripel, and new favorites like a smoked peach sour.

A couple of the beers we sampled

Wicked Weed and the Funkatorium are must stop places, but almost every brewery in Asheville has something to make you happy! Also, the history dork in me loves the origin of Wicked Weed- the quote from King Henry  “Hops are a wicked and pernicious weed”

Hops are a wicked and pernicious weed

Since we were there for wedding festivities, I couldn’t eat all the places I wanted, but I did get to try some doughnuts. Apparently doughnuts are a big deal in Asheville, and I agree. We stopped by Vortex Doughnuts and were very pleased with the decision to stop! 

Doughnuts pair perfectly with beer

Another place we were able to stop to eat was Biscuit Head. The name makes total sense when you realize the biscuits are the same size as your head. We tried a country ham biscuit, a Cajun Benedict biscuit, and a flight of gravies. Yes, I said flight of gravies. Habanero gravy, smoked tomato creole gravy, and pork sausage gravy- with another biscuit to dip. 

Oh my biscuits and gravy!

With a few bottles and cans in tow, we headed back to Birmingham, after celebrating a beautiful wedding (congrats @rushtonation) with wonderful friends, both new and old. We will for sure be visiting Asheville again to sample more of the culture there!


2 thoughts on “Asheville, NC

Leave a comment